Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


I thought I had escaped this terrible cold and flu season, being that practically everyone I know has had it already; though some are still dealing with lingering coughs. However,  I was wrong. I had not dodged it and actually quite the opposite…it found me and… Bamm! Out of nowhere symptoms started manifesting at light speed.

I can think of better reasons to get some time off. World travel for one! Oh what I would do to be in the position to travel 🙂 A girl can dream can’t she? Well, maybe I’m just delirious. My chest hurts, my body aches, my throat is raw, my head feels like it’s going to explode, and did I mention I’m a bit lethargic too? It takes a prayer for me to get out of bed and make it to the bathroom. I will actually need to keep this short as well, as my eyes are burning. Uggg…the flu, I hate it! But, when things seem down and out, and we’re not feeling as good as we’d like to be, I guess it’s a good time to remind ourselves that things can always get, or be worse.

I should have known weeks ago when people were coughing and hacking their lungs out at work, that I was bound to catch it. Sick people should not be allowed to enter into the work area. But what I want to ask is, “why do they?” I would not be able to do my job feeling the way I have yesterday and today. So, I guess they really don’t want to, but perhaps just fear getting fired. What a shame. This is surely a display of the signs of the times and what a poor economy it is that we have to live in such fear. But it’s not just the workplace that we need to worry about, it’s airplanes, movie theaters, grocery stores, and so on.

Thank goodness my husband was sick first, now he can help me out. Although, he is still dealing with a persistent cough; these illnesses don’t go away fast or easy. We will both do a lot of resting this weekend!

Well, you know me, I’ll tie this in to eating well. Mother Nature’s own remedies are our best friend and protector at all times and definitely in times like these. Do some research on natural cures, and be sure to eat fresh, natural goodness – not fast food junk food, or high fat foods that are loaded with salt and chemicals, no, that will only slow you down. Be on top of  your game, so when the flu does sucker punch you, you’ll be on more solid ground to fight back. Yes, healthy people can get sick too. None of us are immune to it. Do your best to ensure that your mind and body are in premium condition as best you can. You help your body, and your body will help you!

Here are a few health products & tips to assist you through cold and flu symptoms. Gaia brand is very good quality brand for medicinal herbs, click here to view their product line:

  • Black Elderberry Syrup
  • Nettle Tea
  • Olive Leaf
  • Vicks VapoRub
  • Fluids
  • Healthy foods when you have an appetite
  • Vitamin C

Here’s an extra tip from my brother Joe; he says to put peroxide in your ears 2 to 3 times a day. Our mother used to do this to us when we were kids. It always tickles when it starts fizzling inside the ear. Although our mom did this as a cleansing mechanism, brother Joe says it helps with the whole sickness in general. Here’s what we do: tilt head to one side, pour in the peroxide; let it fizz for a minute or two, then put a cotton ball in the ear and tilt head to the other side. While that side is draining, simply repeat in the opposite ear.

We all are able to do our own research, but information sharing is quite nice too. Just keep in mind, what works for some, won’t work for others.  Most people (I think) tend to head straight to the doctor and ask for meds. Trying home remedies may surprise you. For example, I could not quiet my cough at all yesterday. My throat was raw, my chest was getting really sore from coughing, and I couldn’t sleep. I had taken nighttime cold and flu medicine which did absolutely nothing for me; it didn’t help me sleep and it didn’t quiet my cough. It was all I had in the house at the time, so that is why I was even taking it. Finally it hit me to rub vicks all over my chest and throat & then wrapped a scarf around my neck – wow! Like a MIRACLE, it instantly quieted my cough. I was then able to sleep! Ahh…relief!

Although I wasn’t able to get the Black Elderberry Syrup and Olive Leaf until today, the first doses offered immediately relief as well. Don’t forget the famous hot tottie! My mother gave us these as kids when we had the cold and flu. A spoonful of honey, a spoonful of whiskey, heat it up, swirl it around and drink it! You can be sure that we slept soundly!

Medications are serious stuff, and should only be taken as prescribed. I don’t knock doctors or pharmaceutical drugs, but personally, I prefer to go the natural route first. Most prescribed drugs have possible side effects that I don’t even care to discuss right now. But put it this way, often times the side effects are worse than what you are attempting to treat!

Be your own best doctor, do what you feel is in your best interest. Seek medical attention when you need to.

Although I would prefer to be on my way to Hawaii, my current destination is well!

I pray you all survive this flu season, and I’ll see you on the brighter side of life soon! ME-gan health and happiness to you.

Mary

