Tags

, , , , , , , ,


I was so proud of myself after starting my new job in September. I was on top of things, making lunches the night before, having meals prepared ahead of time…things were working out perfect. Then like most tragedies, ‘lack of time’ appeared out of nowhere. To me, time & God are quite similar, without them we are not much at all!

Dealing with 12 hour work days and barely 3 hours in the evening before needing to get into bed, does not leave the time it takes to get it all done!.  I have to cook dinner, prepare lunches, get myself (and my husband) ready for the next day, try to catch some news or an enjoyable program and also have family time. It just can’t be done and still get 8 hours sleep. NOT POSSIBLE. So what corners do I find myself cutting? Eating out is the fastest and the easiest. But guess what guys? Eating out, and eating out ‘fast’ is not very ME-gan friendly.

I don’t want to go into all the gory details, but put it this way, if I make one exception, I find that I’m making more and more. It’s like what I always have written and talked about when it comes to eating a no boundaries diet…

Where do I begin, and better yet…where do I end?

For some, splurging every now and then is fine to do. For others, like me, it’s quite hard. I’m a food-ahololic. I have no control. Having no control for someone like me is horrible. For one, I have a slow metabolism, but more importantly, my body cannot handle anything other than the ME-gan lifestyle unless I want to be overweight and MISERABLE. I don’t.

So, after being in my new job a couple of weeks, I found myself saying “Screw it!” quite a few times, but I will not lie, I paid the piper. Deviation is just not worth it. ME-gan eating is guilt free for me and it’s pain-free. For me to throw it out the window for one moment of convenience, pleasure, or whatever you choose to call it, is a dumb thing to do.

All it takes for me is one time of giving in and it turns into a temptation demon that lingers around and gets stronger each day. I’ve found myself battling these ‘food’ temptations, which by the way haven’t haunted me for over 4 years now, all because I gave in a couple of times since I couldn’t juggle my schedule and discipline myself better! I’ve gained almost 10 pounds, my face broke out, headaches have come back and it just SUCKS! It doesn’t take that much for me to have these side effects. Going off the wagon a couple of times a month for a couple of months is all it takes. My body is proof; and it’s mad at me!

So this past week, I’ve cocked my guns! I’m shoot’n down even the slightest temptation that comes my way. I’m going to do what it takes to be armed and dangerous and have my ME-gan food prepared at ALL TIMES! Just like I talk about in the ME-gan Lifestyle, we cannot allow ourselves to get hungry and then have nothing prepared. This type of situation is to be avoided at all costs.

So this weekend was back to the kitchen for Lee and I. Chopping, dicing, slicing, peeling, baking, sauteing… you name it! Bortelino Ristorante Italiano is back in action. We have enough ME-gan meals to feed an army and then some!

I’m just here to say that no one’s perfect. Sure, we try…there’s no doubt of that, but we must not be too hard on ourselves when we fall short. We must get back up and keep on truckin’!

Over the past week, I’ve made some wonderful ME-gan food. Here are a few photos!

IMG_7978

My ME-gan Eggplant Parm! It was to die for!

IMG_8015

Delicious brown beans! Mmm… served with ME-gan toast, OMG! We’re talking mouth-watering goodness!

IMG_8009

Of course I always have plenty of spugget and gravy on hand!

IMG_8025

And tonight I made an apple crisp. It tastes even better than it looks, if you can believe that! It is simply amazing! I will have to post the recipe when I have time! 🙂

IMG_8029

Every bite is delightful!

IMG_8021

There’s plenty to go around!

Let me just end by saying I hope you all find the strength to be strong and make wise food choices every day, and especially when the holidays are here and food is everywhere we turn. Remember, we must eat to live not live to eat. There’s so much more to life than food. Maybe everyone who reads this cannot relate to what I’m trying to stress, but I know there’s someone out there who knows what I’m saying and needs the support. You’re not alone. It’s a 24×7 battle, but YOU’RE worth it! Health and happiness is what matters most of all, plus faith and love in God!

Like I say in my book, The ME-gan Lifestyle, we must find the time to put ourselves first! Make the time to prepare healthy, delicious and nutritious foods for you, your family and your loved ones.  It’s well worth the effort.

God bless and happy holidays to all!

Mary

