Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


If you were in a race to win a million dollars and someone gave you a short cut, a sure win for you if you take it, would you? It wouldn’t be considered cheating, because however you get to the end is up to the you, it’s just whoever gets there first wins. So would you?

What about in life? When others have traveled the long path before you, having learned what to do AND what not to do, as well as how to avoid the pitfalls, would you take their advice if they choose to share their wisdom with you? Why not? It’s no different than the race scenario. You’d take the $1,000,000.00, I’m sure! Life advice is priceless, how many of us say on a daily basis, “If only I had listened to my parents!?” Well maybe YOU don’t, but I do!

A sure fire way to gain wisdom is to listen to those who are already wise!

Regretfully, many of us choose to do things our own way than to heed the advice of those who have been there and done that. The older generation has much to teach, because they have walked the road before us. If we’d only listen we could save ourselves so much trouble, time and energy!

I bet many of you, my friends, have read Erma Bombeck’s poem entitled, “If I Had My Life To Live Over,” but I thought I’d post it for your enjoyment and reflection.  A warning to you, have a tissue or two nearby!

If I had my life to live over, I would have talked less and listened more.

I would have invited friends over to dinner even if the carpet was stained and the sofa faded.

I would have eaten the popcorn in the ‘good’ living room and worried much less about the dirt when someone wanted to light a fire in the fireplace.

I would have taken the time to listen to my grandfather ramble about his youth.

I would never have insisted the car windows be rolled up on a summer day because my hair had just been teased and sprayed.

I would have burned the pink candle sculpted like a rose before it melted in storage.

I would have sat on the lawn with my children and not worried about grass stains.

I would have cried and laughed less while watching television – and more while watching life.

I would have shared more of the responsibility carried by my husband.

I would have gone to bed when I was sick instead of pretending the earth would go into a holding pattern if I weren’t there for the day.

I would never have bought anything just because it was practical, wouldn’t show soil or was guaranteed to last a lifetime.

Instead of wishing away nine months of pregnancy, I’d have cherished every moment and realized that the wonderment growing inside me was the only chance in life to assist God in a miracle.

When my kids kissed me impetuously, I would never have said, “Later. Now go get washed up for dinner.”

There would have been more “I love you’s”.. More “I’m sorrys” …

But mostly, given another shot at life, I would seize every minute… look at it and really see it … live it…and never give it back.

How many people do you think stop during their day and say “I’m going to go home tonight and burn that candle I’ve been saving?” Probably not enough. But my point is, and I truly believe, we all know what we need to be doing and what we ‘should’ be doing, but yet we find every which way we can to rationalize a way to postpone or avoid them. It doesn’t make much sense does it? Quite sad, but factual. But why lament that fact? You’re in control of your life, so go make the changes that need to be made!

Today I realized that life truly is NOT that long. Don’t ask me what brought me to this little epiphany; it’s too lengthy of a story (“what a tangled life we weave!”). Life may seem long when you’re 10 years old, but as you get older you begin to realize it’s just not so. One day your babies are babies, and then they are grown & gone… and you are OLD! When you have more years behind you than you do in front of you, will you finally stop to appreciate things a little more? I hope so, because the time left is dwindling down.

We can’t get a second chance at the time that has gone by. Once it’s gone, it’s gone. Be sure to enjoy every second of every minute while you have the opportunity.

I thought you’d like to hear this song by Frank Sinatra. It’s quite sad, but well said…“Once Upon A Time Never Comes Again.” Click here to listen.

And finally, I will leave you with one of my all-time favorite quotes,

Youth, it’s wasted on the young!

Regrets or not, the fact is…life is not as long as you thought it was when you were a child. It’s actually dust in the wind. “Like sand through an hourglass, so are the days of our lives!” So, seize the moment. Happy living to you! Live, love, laugh and enjoy those you love and who love you!

Go light your candle!

Sincere and no regrets love to you,

Mary

