Tags

, , , , , , ,


“I love olive oil” is probably an understatement. I cook with it, I drizzle it all over my foods and salads, I even use it on my hair and skin. Olive oil is great tasting and is also a very healthy oil.

I’m going to use olive oil as an example of that classic saying “too much of a good thing, is a bad thing.” Since I’m using weight watchers points this month to gain a mental picture on just how much food we all consume day-to-day, and to better realize that each bite we take adds up, allow me to show you the point value in olive oil:

1 Tbsp. contains 0g fiber, 14g fat, 120 calories = 4 points

Yikes! Like I said, I put olive oil on just about everything. I was rationalizing this by reminding myself that since I don’t eat meat or fish and don’t consume a whole lot of ‘fat’ in my diet, that olive oil is ok. I can see now where much of my daily allowance was being ‘eaten up’ in olive oil. I was getting more than I needed without realizing it. Remember the other day I told you that 1/3 cup of walnuts (30g) = 5 points? As you can see, it’s not very many walnuts…

These two items, olive oil and walnuts, have been my two biggest shockers this week so far. They are both healthy and ‘good for you,’ but what more can I say? The points speak for themselves. If you want/need to eat more, then EXERCISE!

I do drink 1 Tbsp. of organic filtered flax oil a couple of times a week and that wears the same price tag as the olive oil; most oils are the same in point value. But we all need healthy fat; without it our skin, eyes and hair will dry up and we will even start losing our hair. So never cut fats out completely. There are several ways to get healthy fat, just remember to exercise portion control:

  • Tofu
  • Almond Coconut Milk
  • Olive oil
  • Canola oil
  • Sunflower oil
  • Peanut oil
  • Sesame oil
  • Avocados
  • Olives
  • Nuts (almonds, peanuts, macadamia nuts, hazelnuts, pecans, cashews)
  • Peanut butter

Note: Great sources of Omega-3 fats for ME-gans include: walnuts, ground flax seeds, flaxseed oil, canola oil, and soybean oil.

We’re all unique, so how much fat is too much fat for you just depends on your lifestyle, your weight, your exercise level, and your overall health. There are USDA recommended averages, you just need to read up or check with your doctor.

I believe we should educate ourselves if we truly want to achieve better health. Don’t just randomly start doing things that you are not sure about. I am not a doctor, but I do read and study. I know a lot more now about healthy eating than I did 10 years ago. You can learn as much as you want, it just depends on how much time you are willing to dedicate and allocate. Or, you can rely on what doctors and other people tell you and trust that they know best. I suggest being armed with some knowledge of your own! Don’t be in the dark…it can lead to trouble.

If Lee would have listened to what he was told about his prostate, he would have been left incontinent and a few other things. I would not have been a happy wife. But we knew there were natural ways (even though his doctor said there were none) to cure the problem he had. He opted out of the operation, made huge changes to his diet, started exercising more and also started taking prostate care supplements. It all proved to be 100% true and accurate, as he now has a healthy prostrate. If we had not known better though, we would have felt we had no other choice but to do what the wise doctor prescribed. Be armed with knowledge…it pays off!

I’m looking forward to weighing in on Sunday, day 8 of my 30 day challenge, to see how my smaller portions have paid off.

Living, loving, and being happy!

Love,

Mary

