Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


When I was a teenager in the Washington, DC area, there used to be a local DJ who went by the name of The Greaseman, his real name is Doug Tracht, who used to have all sorts of sound effects that he would incorporate into his show, and some very crazy sayings as well. One thing I remember most is that he was always using that phrase “The thrill of victory and the agony of defeat.” Besides LEE BORTEL, The Greaseman was one of the top DJs of all time! Personality used to be what made a DJ, today…well, I’m not sure what does…maybe the fact that the profession is run by accountants who think of $$ above anything else, and not by entertainment professionals who think of the audience as #1.

The thrill of victory and the agony of defeat” is a great line if you think about it. Victory IS thrilling and Defeat is agony… or hell, whatever word you feel like using – the same difference, as agony is hell.

Can we avoid defeat? Or if we strive for victory, will we achieve it? To try to avoid defeat is a defensive posture. The best way to overcome defeat is to never grant it the status as part of your daily life to begin with. I look at it this way…if I do not recognize it, it does not exist. Defeat is ONLY when we stop trying, and allow the negative forces and the downer people to take control. So, the choice is a simple one; either we allow them to control us and hope for the best (we all know how that movie will end), or flick them off like a summer mosquito at dusk on a humid evening. The point is that we spend a great deal of our day reacting to others. Whether it is the boss, a co-worker, a sales clerk, a family member or an unexpected telemarketing phone call or knock on the door, we are at the beck and call of everyone via social media, internet, cell phone, etc. Whewww! I’m exhausted by just thinking about it. The first step is to wake up in the morning, look in the mirror and say to yourself: “I’m happy, I am going to stay happy and no one will change my plan for today!” or, as Bob from What About Bob? used to say each morning…”I feel good, I feel great, I feel wonderful.”

This was me after day two of my 47 day challenge last April. I ran a mile each day for 47 days. After day two I felt like I would be defeated, but ooh…quite contraire; it was VICTORY that rang the bell on day 47!! We can accomplish whatever we set our minds to do and if you don’t believe that, then you are already defeated.

Victory is not only thrilling, but it is yours for the taking. Set your mind to overcome the odds and difficulties that will try to defeat you.

ME-gan love,

Mary

