Tags

, , , , , , ,


There are obvious road blocks in life that may prevent us from being able to do what we want, but once we’ve made up our mind to do something then all we need to do is to remove those blocks. It’s not impossible; it’s just a matter of time.

Money can limit us, but there are work-a-rounds. We have many options to overcome this hurdle; we have friends, family, networks and most of all, ourselves. We must put our minds to use, becoming resourceful and creative. If the money is not coming to you, then go get it.

Jobs can limit us. Sometimes we spend all our time making other people’s dreams come true, and ours get pushed to the wayside. Balance your life so that your job does not consume you, or else it will limit you.

Other people can limit us. There are people out there who just do not want to see you succeed. They will do whatever they can to hold you down. Friends, family, co-workers, bosses, business relationships, etc. It’s sad, but true; so choose your circle of friends wisely and be calculating about who you associate with. We often hear that it is wrong to judge others. This is used way out of context. The way I see it is that we MUST judge others when it comes to our own well-being. When we make a poor judgement in character, we can easily get burned. Toss the bad ones, keep the good ones. Not only will they not want to limit you, but they can and will enable you to go farther.

Mindset can surely limit us. How do you view that mountain? Is it so high that it blocks your view? Is it so wide that you can’t get around it? What your mind sees, determines how the rest of you will react. If you’re up against a mountain like this, you may as well just shut down, because obviously you’re not going anywhere – right? But take a second look. If I remember correctly, God does not give us anything we cannot handle – so the bigger the mountain, the BIGGER you are. We’ve all heard of ‘beer goggles’ right? Well sometimes we wear ‘mountain goggles’ that need to be removed. When we do, we’ll see that the mountain is not that big after all.

So, whatever the road block is in your life, I say knock it down. It’s not impossible to do this, and it’s really not that hard. The hard part is convincing yourself that you can do it. Why we short ourselves on believing in ourselves and God, is a mystery.

There was a time in my life when I needed to make a major decision. It was a decision that I had been putting off for years; I knew what I needed to do, but found 101 ways to put it off. I was hurting myself by allowing multiple road blocks to keep me from making the right choice; thereby stopping me from doing what I truly wanted to do. You know what made the difference finally? A 1/2 day class that my job at that time offered, entitled “Who Moved My Cheese?” Yep, just like the book. In class we watched a video version of the book, and was handed a workbook that we used during class as well. At the end of the class, we all received a hard copy of the book. This book changed my entire life; it motivated and inspired me to kick over all those road blocks in my way, and I don’t mean eventually, no…I mean immediately. That very day I started making decisions. I could not be stopped – I was on fire, and that mountain that I had been facing for the longest time, was now a mole hill. I kid you not. I just shook my head and wondered why I had not done all this sooner.

There is usually a life changing event in all our lives. It could be a person who says or does something to us that causes us to have our ‘ah ha’ moment, or it could be a health matter, a financial matter, or even something we have read. I hope that you will be inspired today to view your mountain smaller, and knock over the road blocks that have been in your path.

When it comes to doing what you truly want in life, let nothing stop you! Otherwise, you’ll wake up one morning with more life behind you than in front of you, wishing you had done more…and that will be a sad, sad day.

Be strong, climb high, have faith and succeed! 

ME-gan Love,

Mary

