Tags

, , ,


(This is Flashback # 3 for Mary’s Blog Anniversary Week. Originally posted on 5/14/2011 – Enjoy!)

I picked up a magazine at the “Y” the other day called “Sweat, Arizona’s Sports & Fitness Resource.” There was an article titled “One Leg, One Lung, No Excuses.” This is an AMAZING story about an AMAZING lady named Amy Dodson who lost her leg and one lung to undifferentiated sarcoma – a soft tissue tumor that grows in the extremities. I recommend reading this if you can! Inside the magazine reads: APR 2011>Vol. 20>No.4, www.sweatmagazine.com. Hopefully you will be able to find this article with that information. Amy gets up every morning and runs 6 or 7 miles, goes to work and then runs another 10 miles or so. She also hits the gym and lifts weights several days a week! Some of her achievements include: World Championships and world records in triathlon, marathon and ultramarathon distances! Can we say WOW!!!! She has four National Championships at the half marathon distance, Silver Strand Half in San Diego! And there’s MORE!! You must read about her! I would like to quote Amy on this excerpt from the article. I found it to be very emotional and inspiring:

“I must admit that I love being able to run long distances because I shouldn’t be able to do it with one leg and one lung. But I can. Why? Because I believe I can – I believe in myself. I don’t let anyone else’s preconceived limitations stop me.”

This is why I LOVE to read! You never know what you’re going to find! I had never heard of Amy Dodson until I read this article. I can’t tell you how much motivation it has given me. It’s actually quite humbling.

 

Today is Day 17 of my 47 day challenge…. to run a mile every day for 47 days! Hey… I only have 30 days left!!! That would probably be a piece of cake for Amy!! So I’m going to continue on with a song in my heart and a smile on my face! I HAVE TWO LEGS AND TWO LUNGS!! What on God’s green earth do I have to complain about? NOTHING!

Actually, if I haven’t said it once or twice already (ha!), I AM proud of myself. This has not been easy for me, but I have stuck to my commitment and I have improved on a daily basis! I’m faster, I can run an entire mile now without stopping, and I just feel better all around! For those of you who have followed my challenge, you may recall that my own personal ‘challenge inside a challenge’ was to be able to run a 10 min. mile by the end of the 47 days. I think I’m going to do it, maybe even break it!! Why? Because today………. Drum roll please…..I ran a mile in 10 minutes and 5 seconds!! SO CLOSE!!

Let’s all walk away today with the mentality of not letting anyone else’s “preconceived limitations” stop us!”

Don’t forget that performance is based on the quality that your mind and body are in! They can only be as good as you treat them! Eat well, be happy, LIVE STRONG AND LONG!

Here’s to LVING GLUTEN FREE, ANIMAL FREE, DAIRY FREE & EGG FREE!! Eat local and organic when feasible!

Lots of Love,

Mary

 

 

 

 

