Tags

, , , , , , , ,


Writing is one of my favorite enjoyments in life. For as long as I can remember I have written poetry and short stories. Sometimes as a child I would write poems and then recite them to my dad. He always made a big deal out of it and said what a great writer I was and how talented I was. I don’t remember what these poems said; I wish I would have kept them, but my goodness, I think I was only in 2nd or 3rd grade. My guess is that they were quite silly, yet my dad had a very special way of making me feel so proud of myself. Who knows, maybe if he had told me to find a new hobby, I may never have written again? It’s hard to tell how life may have turned out differently if this or that had happened or had not happened. But one thing is for sure, an ounce of encouragement goes a long way, as do kind acts and kind words.

I’ve heard many stories of people who have reached great success, but up until that point, over the years, had been turned down and discouraged over and over. Thank God that we don’t always listen to what we are told, particularly when it relates to squashing our dreams.

Joel Osteen once talked about how a person can get 1000 compliments and think nothing of it, but then gets 1 negative one and BAM…that’s all they can think of after that. They allow it to eat them up and ruin their day. Isn’t that the truth!? My goodness, I think we are all guilty of that one. I guess it’s easy to let the negative get to us. But hopefully, the older we get the wiser we get and don’t allow this to continue to happen. Negativity stunts our growth as human beings, can affect our health in so many ways, and can shut us down to the point where we are no longer productive to ourselves and those around us who care for us and need us. Very sad. What to do? AVOID negativity at all costs. If you see an angered dog running at you, are you going to stand there and allow it to take you down? My guess is no, you are not, you’re going to run like there’s no tomorrow! At least that’s what I would do! It’s the same situation with negative people who come at you with their negative spins. The SPIN stops HERE and NOW. Turn your back on it, and continue on your road to success.

Life is precious…so find people like my father who lifted me up, supported my hopes, goals & dreams, and helped me to blossom into life the way God intended me to! Positive people, bring positive results!

Yesterday was my dad’s birthday, would he be alive today he would be 94 years young. Cheers to my dad, one GREAT man!

James Anthony Sparacino - March 7, 1918 - December 12, 1987

A father’s love to you!

Mary

