Tags

, , , , , , , ,


I mentioned in an earlier post this week a book entitled Facing Your Giants, by Max Lucado. I thought about this book a lot this week as I seem to be in the land of Gath (Land of the Giants).

We’ve all heard the term misery loves company right? Well, in this book Max puts it this way:

Slumping people love slumping people. Hurting people hang with hurting people. We love those who commiserate and avoid those who correct. Yet correction and direction are what we need.

The author goes on to give examples of how being around these negative people will bring us down. Well Lord, I know that! But, it’s always good to be reminded so that we are constantly reinforced that we are right, and they are wrong.

When I first decided that my life had to get better and not worse, I was at an all-time low. The first thing to go were the negative people in my life. This was truly one of the most powerful moves I’ve made in my life, and it brought the most positive results that I had witnessed in a long time. Getting rid of those who hold us down and who make us believe we are something we’re not, is something we must all consider.  God is with us through it all…the good, the bad and the ugly. And when we are ready to be lifted up, He will be there to see us through!

Today, Friday, represents the end of a long week. Some of us have had a great week, and some a not so great week. My week ended BEAUTIFULLY as I spent an hour with the Lord today in sweet Adoration. Now THAT is a great way to conclude the week. And now we move on to the weekend and hopefully we can relax and savor life. So, instead of cleaning house, take a day trip to the mountains, or the nearest lake or body of water! Enjoy life to its fullest and savor all that is good – because there is so much good! We tend to only see the bad (watch the news, listen to the radio, read a newspaper, etc.) which in turn causes us to dwell on it. It is only by the Grace of God, and by finding our inner faith & strength that we can pull away from this negative force.

So as you all go off and begin your weekend, I wanted to leave you with this story from Max’s book. I’m sure you will enjoy!

In 1952 Florence Chadwick attempted to swim the chilly ocean waters between Catalina Island and the California shore. She swam through foggy weather and choppy seas for fifteen hours. Her muscles began to cramp, and her resolve weakened. She begged to be taken out of the water, but her mother, riding in a boat alongside, urged her not to give up. She kept trying but grew exhausted and stopped swimming. Aids lifted her out of the water and into the boat. They paddled a few more minutes, the mist broke and she discovered that the shore was less than a half mile away. “All I could see was the fog,” she explained at a news conference. “I think if I could have seen the shore, I would have made it.”

Author Max goes on to provide his commentary:

Take a long look at the shore that awaits you. Don’t be fooled by the fog of the slump. The finish may be only strokes away. God may be, at this moment, lifting his hand to signal Gabriel to grab the trumpet. Angels may be assembling, saints gathering, demons trembling. Stay at it! Stay in the water. Stay in the race. Stay in the fight. Give grace, one more time. Be generous one more time. Teach one more class, encourage one more soul, swim one more stroke.

So whatever giants you are facing, and whatever negative forces are in your life, don’t let them get you down. You are in control! With God as your friend, who dare be your enemy?

Never ending, never giving up, never quitting love to you!

Mary

