Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Awe…poor Kermit, it’s always so sad to hear him sing this song! Every time I eat my greens I sing the lyrics in my mind:

“It’s not that easy being green
Having to spend each day the color of the leaves
When I think it could be nicer being red, or yellow or gold
Or something much more colorful like that”

It sure is funny how the mind works – don’t you agree?

Tonight I was chopping up all sorts of greens, I had golden beet leaves, fresh fennel, kohlrabi greens, I’itoi onions and rainbow chard! Wow…it was quite the beautiful spread. If you know me, you know that most the time when I go to the kitchen and start cooking that I have no idea what I’m going to end up making. The past few days I’ve been focusing on vegetables and making sure we’re eating a lot of ‘green,’ so I figured that I’d take it all and throw it into one large pan and start a yummy sauté  going. The good thing about the items I mentioned above is that you can eat the entire vegetable, the stems, the bulb, all of it – there’s very little to waste.

I started by sautéing the kohlrabi and radish with the fennel and I’itoi Onion, along with sliced sweet onion, then I tossed in the beet greens and continued to cook for a while, seasoning with lavender pepper, rosemary, sage, and ginger. Oooh, the aroma was spreading throughout the house rather quickly! This is when I always get so excited because I know that something delicious and healthy is coming together right before my very eyes and from my very own hands and creativeness! Lastly, I added in the kohlrabi greens and sautéed another 10 minutes.

Hmmm…it may not be easy ‘being’ green, but it sure is my pleasure to eat green!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This involved about 15 minutes of preparation, and 15 minutes of cook time. Not bad, and definitely not a big mess. I LOVE ME-GAN EATING!! It’s healthy, nutritious, delicious, pretty, fun and certainly no big expense. I think back to when Lee and I ate the no boundaries way of eating, my goodness, just two steaks would come close to $20 if not more. Add in the sides and desserts…it’s all so shameful!  I can’t believe we both used to eat like that. Not only was it expensive, but so unhealthy. There was no control, we ate it all and we ate too much. We were both unhealthy and our bodies were screaming for help.

My health and weight was out of control and it finally caused me to stop in my tracks! I had reached the point where I could no longer continue on that road to self-ruin. When Lee saw me changing, he didn’t want to get left behind, so naturually he made changes too!

Now we enjoy healthy, beautiful food that has been here all along, We just didn’t know it. Thank you God…for waking us up and showing us all you have provided right here on this earth!

RAINBOW LOVE,

Mary

