Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


The only thing better than waking up on a Sunday morning and having homemade pancakes, is waking up on Saturday morning and having them! What a treat it was this morning in our house. Lee and I usually wake up to probiotics on an empty stomach, then move on to a fruit smoothie. Some mornings if we are extra hungry we go straight to last night’s leftovers – this is quick as it only takes minimal time to re-heat. Sometimes I look with hungry eyes upon my food and blurt out ‘GET IN MY BELLY!” LOL! (For those of you who don’t already know, that’s from the movie Austin Powers). But there are other times when I’m not famished and can actually slow down, take my time and make a deliciously fresh hot meal!

Today being Saturday and still needing to put in a full day’s work took away all the fun and relaxation that Saturdays usually bring to us. So my idea of brightening up the day and getting off to a great start was making us the MOST ME-GANLY DELICIOUS pancakes ever! Once I start creating, I never know what I’m going to get. A little of this, a little of that, a pinch of this and a dash of that, and voilà, behold…AMAZING FOOD!

I usually do not follow recipes and therefore each time I make something it comes out different from the time before, but always incredible! Today I mixed gluten free all-purpose flour with stone ground yellow corn meal, added in some cinnamon, baking powder, salt & stevia, and incorporated fresh almond coconut milk,  along with whatever fruits and other ingredients I had on hand which today was; fresh organic blueberries, apples, bananas, applesauce, evoo, walnuts and vanilla – yum! They were so scrumptious that Lee and I helped ourselves to two whopping size pancakes, and managed to have leftovers for a snack later or even tomorrow.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And now we head out for our 2 mile walk.  With healthy, tasty food and exercise to get our blood flowing, a working Saturday is all of a sudden not looking so bad.

I look back to when my body was under attack: migraines, Raynaud’s, bowel problems, mood swings, tiredness, etc., and am so thankful that I found the path to healthy eating and positive attitude when I did – just in the nick of time. Food truly does heal, just as it can truly be harmful. And a positive mind keeps you lifted up, thereby building resistance to stress and other negative factors in life that come barging at you! Listen to your body talk, and feed it whole, organic food provided to us by Mother Nature! The ME-gan Lifestyle will lead the way to a healthier and happier YOU today!

Oh, and by the way…Lee and I calculated that these would be considered “deluxe”  pancakes at a traditional “HEALTH CONSCIOUS” breakfast restaurant, most likely costing $10.99 for a plate of two x’s 2; the cost of 4 cups of milk (we had refills!), I’m guessing $2.50 a glass; a banana on the side x’s 2 – what do you think, $2.00 a banana? Add in tax and a tip….for a grand total somewhere around $40.00. It cost us about $2.00 per person – we didn’t have to tip, the service was great, and the food was DE-LISH! The ME-gan lifestyle fits perfectly into these economic times! Better health & wealth!

Saturday love…

Mary

