Tags

, , , , , ,


One of the many beauties of The ME-gan Lifestyle is that we eat whole, fresh, and local when possible, but reality is reality and we know this is not always possible. I have no problem eating canned, packaged or frozen foods whatsoever. Actually having these on hand has been a life saver to me many times.  My rule of thumb about packaged food (canned, frozen, etc.) is that it have as few ingredients as possible; and keeping to ingredients that I can pronounce and know what they are!

With that said, we must realize that even though we are very vigilant as to what ingredients we put into our bodies, an ingredient list may not always be 100% accurate. The FDA has their own (very poor and minimal) requirements for what is and what is not required to be provided to us – the consumer.  We’ll drive ourselves mad if we think about it.

Just recently a news report was released on 100% pure orange juice. If you have not seen it, here’s a short video clip you may want to watch – click here.

I’d like to grow my own foods – all of it, from fruits to veggies, from grains to legumes, but I do not foresee this happening anytime soon. So until then, I will eat as healthy as I know how and possibly can, as The ME-gan Lifestyle has proven to make a HUGE impact on my health and life in general. Our bodies will never be 100% pure, will they? A perfect world is not possible. Allow me to paraphrase the words of Billy Graham: “If there ever was a perfect world, and you became part of it, it would no longer be perfect.”

If we quit consuming everything that wasn’t perfect, we’d probably starve to death and thirst to death, but that certainly doesn’t mean that we can’t ‘aim’ for the best and set our standards way above the norm.  All we can do is try, and then hope and pray for the best.

It’s our obligation to strive for health & happiness and do our part. In God we trust, all others we question!

Only doing what I can…love,

Mary

