Tags

, , , , ,


Anyone who knows me, knows that at one time I ‘hated’ making salads. If a guest asked what they could bring to my dinner party, the answer would always be ‘SALAD!’ I really don’t know what I was so afraid of. The thought of ‘mixing’ it myself, rather than just opening a bottle of dressing was unthinkable!

Forward to today…they are my specialty! I could probably write a cookbook with a 100 different versions of salads alone! Each time I make a salad, Lee and I both say “that was the best salad I’ve ever had!” until the next time of course! They truly are effortless; just require some love, devotion and creativeness!

The other day I made one of my favorite dishes – cold bean & corn salad. My friend Alyce made it for me once and I’ve been hooked ever since! Basically, it consists of corn, black beans, chick peas, diced tomatoes, mint and gluten free Italian dressing. You can also add onion or peppers, and more…but this is my simple way of making it. The flavor is unbelievably delicious. Once you start, you can’t seem to stop eating it. Everyone I’ve made it for absolutely loves it. Lucky me, I somehow ended up with some leftovers, so last night I incorporated them with an organic spring mix salad. I took the fresh greens, tossed them with the bean & corn salad, added in some balsamic vinegar and evoo. I topped it with sweet onions that I had sautéed with gluten free BBQ sauce. Oh wow… what a burst of flavors! Every bite was intense! We didn’t want it to end! 🙂 To go with the salad, we shared a baked potato, topped with homemade salsa and roasted red pepper hummus. With food this healthy and delicious, who needs more? Not I!

Black Bean and Corn Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 handful (approx. 11 leaves) fresh chopped mint
  • 1 15 oz. can black beans, drained
  • 1 15 oz. can corn, drained
  • 1 15 oz. can petite diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1/2 cup gluten free Italian dressing, I use wishbone

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together well. Can chill first, but not necessary. Serve and enjoy!

Here are some pictures for your mouth-watering enjoyment!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just remember, cooking doesn’t have to be complicated and exhausting! The ME-gan Lifestyle is light…not labored and bothersome. Turn on some music, pour your beverage of choice (ME-gan approved of course), and bring your kitchen to life!

Life is for living, so live! Be happy, healthy and positive!

Mary

