Tags

, , ,


Do you remember being a kid and grossing out at the thought of pea soup for dinner? I DO! And when mom cooked it, I would be embarrassed to tell my friends about it! Kids…they are so funny, aren’t they? Ashamed and grossed out at something SO YUMMY! I can’t get enough of it now! How ironic 🙂

However, no matter how hard I try, I can never make it quite as good as mom does.  That Jackie, she makes THE BEST!

Well guess what? You got it…today’s recipe is PEA SOUP!  YUCK…haha, just kidding! You’ll LOVE IT!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients

  • 1/8 cup of olive oil (more or less)
  • 1/2 lb. green split peas
  • 2 medium size carrots, finely diced
  • 1/2 medium onion, finely diced
  • salt to taste
  • garlic powder to taste

Directions

Cover bottom of a 3.5 qt sauce pan with olive oil, warm over medium low heat. Add in carrots, onions and season with salt & garlic powder, sauté  for 10 minutes. Add peas and sauté for another 2 or 3 minutes. Add 3 cups of water, raise heat to medium high, bringing soup to a medium boil; cook like this for 1/2 hour covered, with lid slightly cracked & stirring occasionally. After 1/2 hour is up, add 1 1/2 to 2 cups more water, lower heat now and cook another 1/2 hour with lid still on and slightly cracked.

You can serve this with ME-gan bread or crackers, Mary’s Gone Crackers herb crackers are OUT OF THIS WORLD! Or as I like to eat my pea soup, just alone! I LOVE this soup and could eat it everyday!

So curl up on your couch tonight, with a nice hot bowl of PEA SOUP, and watch your favorite Christmas classic or perhaps read a book…may I suggest The ME-gan Lifestyle!?  🙂

GREEN SPLIT PEA LOVE TO YOU!

Mary

