Tags

, , , , ,


I guess it wouldn’t be like me to start my ‘recipe month’ off  with a recipe that does not include my all time favorite – the POTATO! As I’ve been talking about, today I start sharing some awesome ME-gan food dishes, treats, and all sorts of goodies.

My first recipe is:

Roasted Potatoes with Pesto (Regular pesto or Chive pesto, whichever you prefer!)

This happening dish is sure to please all!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 to 2 lbs. fingerling potatoes (red will work too) halved and then sliced into lengthwise wedges
  • 1/2 cup olive oil, plus an extra 2 Tbsp. (more if needed)
  • Sea salt and ground pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh chives, plus extra to use as garnish
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley
  • 2 Tbsp. slivered almonds (chopped walnuts or pine nuts will do nicely too)
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 tsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp. water

Preheat oven to 425 – Put your favorite holiday CD in and get ready to cook!

In mixing bowl, coat potatoes with 2 Tbsp. olive oil (more if needed to coat evenly), season with salt and pepper. Spread potato wedges in a single layer onto a large baking sheet. Roast, turning occasionally, until golden brown and tender; about 30 minutes.

While they are roasting you will combine 1/2 cup chives, parsley, almonds, and garlic in a processor, pulsing until finely chopped; adding in remaining oil through the ‘feeding tube,’ until fully incorporated. Transfer mixture to small bowl and stir in lemon juice and 2 Tbsp. water. Season with salt and pepper to your liking.

When potatoes are done, transfer to a serving platter and drizzle with about half of the pesto mixture and top with additional chopped chives for garnish. Use the additional pesto for ‘dipping!’ MANGIA!

I don’t know about you, but I may be making this tonight myself! My mouth is watering just typing this out!

As I stress in my book The ME-gan Lifestyle, get creative and make it your own. After you make this once, maybe you’ll change it up a bit the next time you make it. Perhaps you’ll use regular ME-gan basil pesto (you know…without the cheese!) instead of the chive pesto. You can add to it, take-away from it, or simply jazz it up in your own special way!

See, ONE dish can become MANY, when you take the ME-gan Lifestyle and incorporate it into your very own creations!

Celebrate the holidays and Christmas season with food that is unparalleled in health and taste.

ME-gan Lifestyle love to you and yours!

Mary – Click here to hear one of my favorite Christmas classics!

