Tags

, , , ,


A couple of weeks ago, we spent the afternoon walking around Georgetown, a neat, historic place in Washington, D.C. to shop, eat, walk, have coffee and also enjoy the fun nightlife. The weather couldn’t have been more perfect and it was so nice to be with my son and his family.

We stumbled upon this big market place, and let me say, it was happening! All sorts of foods, dishes and pastries. It was all so colorful, and there were things you may not find in an ordinary grocery store. Although there was a huge selection and plenty to decide on, it was not very ME-gan friendly. That’s ok though, we thoroughly enjoyed it anyway. I love watching others look around, choose what they want to eat, and then PIG OUT! They eat it all, without hesitation.

It’s at times like these that I realize if I had not changed my eating habits, put up boundaries and started living the ME-gan lifestyle, I too would be eating it all. In fact, that’s a big part of how I got so overweight and unhealthy. I would have walked into that market and started wondering what do I eat first? I wouldn’t have known where to begin, or end!

Maybe for some, control is not an issue. For me, it was. With no boundaries I had no control. Now, I have no problem whatsoever looking, smelling, enjoying it through my senses, yet not once coming close to giving in. I don’t crave it anymore. Good health out weighs the misery that poor eating habits bring upon me. And as I’ve said many times, I am not missing out, in fact it’s quite the opposite. I feel others are missing the pleasure of the many God-given natural foods that are right here on this earth, which need no altering as they are simply perfect as they are.

After walking around Georgetown, we found a nice quaint little place, tucked away – right there in the middle of the city to eat lunch alfresco called The Peacock Cafe. While my son and his wife, Virginia, ate their delicious food, Lee and I engaged in a heavenly ME-ganlicious meal ourselves. We shared a platter of grilled asparagus, sweet potato, peppers & onions, and eggplant. As my sister Carmela likes to so energetically pronounce “It was to die for!”

Here are some photos for your enjoyment, I hope you like. I’m sure you’ll be able to decipher them according to what I’ve mentioned above.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The ME-gan lifestyle is about living. And because we don’t eat anything and everything, we have the strength and vitality to get out and live. We are not tempted by these beautifully deceitful foods that are conveniently EVERYWHERE. We hold out for our very own style of beautifully delicious & healthy foods, and walk away guilt free, completely satisfied.

I’m not boasting, I’m sharing and inviting! Won’t you come along?

Patiently waiting..Love,

Mary

