Tags

, , , ,


It doesn’t take much to make a delicious meal. A couple nights ago I made baked squash & zucchini with red potatoes. I rubbed the vegetables with olive oil,  and seasoned them with garlic & Italian seasoning. This is one of those dishes that you can keep adding to – use your imagination! Sometimes I have included eggplant, onions, and Brussels sprouts. However this time I did not. I  make do with what I have on hand at that moment. To serve alongside of the bake, I made a pot of Basmati Rice Medley – A Blend of Aged Indian Basmati Rice & Wild Rice with Garden Herbs & Vegetables. I found this rice at Trader Joe’s and it’s out of this world! When we sat down to eat, I served Cannon’s Red Hots to go over top of the rice. Just a little goes a long way, it’s tasty, hot and gives it that ZING!

PA-TATE-TOE, PA-TOT-TOE it doesn’t matter how you say it, anyone who knows me knows that I love them! Red potatoes have significant amounts of vitamins and  minerals.  I always tend to run a little low on my potassium level, so I try to get as much as I can by eating foods that are high in it. One red potato contains 37 percent more potassium than a banana, with  620 mg per 148-g serving. They are also high in vitamin C, niacin, magnesium, iron & vitamin B6. Other vitamins and minerals found in lower amounts include folate, zinc and copper. Keep in mind, not only do red potatoes contain a variety of vitamins, minerals and nutrients, they are also fat-free, cholesterol-free and very low in sodium. One medium red potato also contains about 4 g of protein.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Remember – it’s not the potato that makes you fat, it’s what you put on top of it that does. Try roasting, baking or broiling instead of frying and mashing. Also, instead of topping them with butter, bacon and sour cream, try salsa or pesto…even a little extra virgin olive oil! God gave us naturally healthy and flavorful food, why throw it out the window by smothering it with high fat, high cholesterol stuff? 

Caio for now!

Mary

