Tags


I finally made my ME-gan friendly pumpkin pie – yeah! It tasted great and had a ‘custard’ feel to it more than traditional pumpkin pie. I’m going to try a few more recipes, but for a first time attempt, this was dee-lish! My daughter Maria doesn’t normally like traditional pumpkin pie, but she loved this – so that must say something! Here are some pics for you to enjoy – I even took one of the pie upside down after it cooled, so you could see how pretty the crust turned out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When it came out of the oven, it was dark and kind of looked like a chocolate pie. I guess that’s because I didn’t use cream and all that stuff that you would normally put into pumpkin pie. The crust was delicious, and very simple to make; white rice flour, shortening and water. For the filling, I used organic pumpkin, sugar, corn starch, seasonings and almond milk. My daughter, Amanda, suggested I try coconut milk next time – good idea!

Fall and the upcoming holidays wouldn’t be the same without pumpkin pie; it’s good to know that you can ME-ganize just about any recipe!

Pumpkin love,

Mary

