Tags

, , ,


Good job to “Food Should Taste Good.” This is a brand that I recently discovered. They make it easy for people like me who get tired of constantly being on the look out for hidden ingredients. The packaging is as clear as can be at providing pertinent information such as: Certified Vegan, Certified Gluten Free, Certified Kosher, etc. That’s the way you do it! Can I hear an AMEN! Gosh, why can’t all packing be this way? I’ve come to discover that nowadays if packaged food labels do not clearly state gluten free, or vegan, then they most likely are not.

I have eaten Food Should Taste Good Olive Tortilla Chips, made with black, green & kalamata olives, garlic and sea salt. They are delicious! Serving size is 1 oz (about 10 chips), 140 cal., 6g fat and 3g fiber.  For those counting Weight Watcher points, that would equal 3 pts per serving.

I was eating at Sweet Tomatoes the other day and tried their Sweet Tomato Onion Soup. It looked safe to me, the soup label read: onions, tomatoes, garlic, and not much more than that. Well, what I learned, and I’m certain most people (like me) don’t realize or think about, is the probability that there are more ingredients to what is posted – many more ingredients! After eating a small bowl of this soup, I asked the manager for the ingredient list, and the first thing on the list was white flour. Another night of pain for me, I was not happy to say the least! This sort of thing frustrates the heck out of me…again, why I hardly EVER go out to eat. It’s just too much work. I have to ask, probe, whatever it takes, to get the complete ingredients. Why I didn’t ask before I ate the soup was just dumb on my behalf. I should have realized there were more ingredients. I will be contacting their corporate office, as they really need to resolve this issue and label things clearly as to Vegan, Gluten Free, and so on.

So you probably understand why I am so happy when I run into an item that is clearly marked, or find a restaurant that is designed around my eating style. It makes eating out so much easier. And although I don’t often eat ‘processed foods,’ there are a few instances I do.  For example, I love chips and salsa.  Of course I like to make my own salsa, and sometimes I’ll buy it from a farmer’s market or the ‘fresh’ section of Whole Foods – always fresh, always ME-gan friendly. But the chips must be clearly marked, because they are not all gluten free, dairy free, etc.

I’ve been gluten free for over two years and meat, dairy and egg free for over a year and let me tell you, it’s still a learning process. I know that it is hard to be 100% free of anything these days, and I pretty much accept that every now and then an Uh-oh will happen. But I continue to be vigilant, and when I learn something, I like to pass it on to others!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Again, kudos to “Food Should Taste Good,” for making my life easier and making a tasty treat!

Honest Love…

Mary

