Tags

, , , ,


Have you ever seen the movie “What About Bob?” It just so happens to be one of my favorites! There’s a part in the movie when Dr. Leo Marvin’s daughter, Anna, asks Bob if he would like to go sailing with her and her friends. Bob replies and says his lips are getting numb just thinking about it! Ha-ha! My children and I always laugh so hard at that part!

Lee and I have some friends (believe it or not) – Jon and Alyce, who love to sail, and Jon’s a sailboat Captain (check out their blog). They’ve been trying to get us to sail with them for years, but like Bob, my lips would begin to get numb with just the thought of it! However, the time finally came when I said WHAT THE HECK! Seriously…what had I been thinking? Isn’t it me who always say “life is about living?” I had to take my own advice…and we had a great time!

Everyone brought food and their favorite beverages. There’s nothing like good times with great friends. There was some cooking on the boat, I even made salad one night with pasta & marinara.  That’s always a winner. We also went out to eat one night after docking. I guess what I’m trying to say is that even though Lee and I eat the ME-gan style, we don’t shy away from activities. Why would we? So what if we don’t eat meat, dairy, egg or gluten? There’s still so much more that we do eat! So while everyone else was eating their favorite foods, Lee and I were enjoying our favorite foods – delicious grilled veggies, and salad. We were quite happy to say the least. Uniqueness and individuality is what this world is made up of, so don’t ever let your own personal style hold you down.

I’m sure that when you make a lifestyle change, such as changing what you eat, it may be scary at first. But once you get familiar with what you can and cannot eat, it’s a breeze! You become quite good at packing snacks and other items so you don’t get caught hungry without anything readily available to eat. It’s eating out that can be tricky, but again, once you get the hang of it, it’s simple. It’s the hidden ingredients that you need to be watchful of. I find it best when eating out to stick to salads dressed with oil and vinegar; grilled or roasted veggies, and/or baked, boiled, or roasted potatoes! It’s hard to go wrong with these.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So I’ll leave you with a couple thoughts. Don’t let your fears keep you from doing what you want to do. God has a plan already, we can’t change it. So live and be happy – enjoy life, friends and family. Lastly, food should not rule our lives. Take control and live life according to YOU!

Life is great – have fun living it!

Love, Mary

