Tags

, , , , , , ,


…and I’m certainly not Dr. Phil’s wife! I’m just little ol’ me!

It’s astonishing that in order get a publisher to pick you up, you must have a high-profile; or as it’s often referred to in these days of social media…a “Platform.”

Really? What about the lady who wrote the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling? I’m not quite sure what her platform was, but I could have sworn she was next to homeless and living in her car, right? Well, something like that….

Oh well, another “no,” but a good “no!” It’s the “no” I was looking for actually…now I’m that much closer to my big YES!

Here’s to all those authors who have PLATFORMS…God bless you! You don’t even need to have talent, your name will sell the books for you. And what’s that all about anyway? Authors need to be able to sell their own books now? I mean, call me stupid but if we could do it on our own, why would we need a publisher? Nobody wants to do their job anymore…they want others to do it for them, or even better yet, get paid for doing nothing. Obviously the publishing business is no different – LOL! :)

Well, money certainly talks, and once success hits then everyone wants a piece of the action; revealing isn’t it? Reminds me of a childhood tale where the moral of the story was:

You didn’t help me make it, and you’re not gonna help me eat it either!

Another lesson in life…count on no one, and you won’t be disappointed. Believe in yourself and GOD, and you’ll go far!

Holler’n from my modest platform… “MUCH LOVE TO YOU!”

Mary

